EENC Events

EENC hosts several activities every year, including our annual conference and section events. The following events are those sponsored or promoted by EENC.

There are many other environmental education opportunities offered throughout the state that are not offered through EENC. Visit the NC Office of Environmental Education's event calendar to explore other opportunities!

Upcoming events

    • Wed, March 10, 2021
    • 7:30 PM - 8:30 PM (EST)

    What are renewable energy technologies and why is it important to teach students about them? This one-hour webinar will answer these questions and provide practical tools, ideas, and resources for how to incorporate hands-on learning about renewable energy technologies in your grade 4–12 classrooms. Hear how schools and classrooms across Canada are preparing students for their energy future using GreenLearning’s Re-Energy Program using STEAM Based learning.

    Register Here!

    EENC is a Green Teacher Webinar Partner.


    • Fri, March 12, 2021
    • (EST)
    • Fri, March 26, 2021
    • (EDT)
    • 2 sessions
    • Online
    • 6
    Register

    The Guidelines for Excellence is a series of materials to help environmental educators hone their practice and programs to national standards for high-quality EE programming.  This workshop will focus on the K-12 Environmental Education Guidelines publication.

    This workshop is for educators (formal, nonformal, and higher education) want to learn more about:  
    • What environmental literacy is and how to explain the value of environmental literacy.
    • What environmental literacy should look like by the end of grades 4, 8 and 12.
    • How to connect these Guidelines to your EE instructional materials and NC curriculum standards.

    Format: This course will be a combination of independent online work and required group calls.  We will be using an online platform called Moodle for independent work and Zoom for the calls (video and call-in options). 

    Live Call Dates: Friday, March 12 and Friday, March 26 from 10:00-11:30 AM. Note: you must attend and participate in both calls to receive full credit for this course.

    Facilitators: Corey Sperling 

    Limited to 15 students.

    Eligible for 10 hours of Criteria I or continuing education credit for the NC DEQ EE Certificate.

    Registration: $15 for EENC members, $20 for general registration.  

    • Thu, March 18, 2021
    • 2:00 PM - 3:00 PM (EDT)

    This session will explore how the EE Outcomes course (provided by Cornell University's Civic Ecology Lab) has impacted the goal setting and strategic planning for the Education Department at The NC Arboretum. We'll see how the staff used evidence-based research to create Theories of Change for each of the department initiatives, determining Ultimate Outcomes, Action/Behavior Outcomes, Intermediate Outcomes, and the Activities and Interventions that can help reach them. Once we better understand the outcomes we are reaching, as opposed to the ones we think we are reaching, we can better plan for the future development of our programs and how to evaluate their effectiveness based on this Theory of Change. 

    Presenter: Michelle Pearce
    Michelle is a certified North Carolina Environmental Educator and has a Master's of Arts in Education with a focus in Science Education. Her passion is empowering educators with tools that will help them provide equitable and inclusive learning. She is a long time member of EENC and has returned to the board as Education Chair. She currently works at The NC Arboretum as the Teacher Education Coordinator, and the state coordinator for Outdoor Wonders and Learning.

    Registration Information
    Webinar registration is free and open to anyone to attend, but is limited to 100 participants. Click here to register.

    Webinar will qualify for Criteria III and continuing education for NC DEQ EE Certificate.  

    A recording of the webinar will be sent to attendees afterward.  It will also be posted on EENC's members-only page - so if you're an EENC member and not able to attend during the scheduled time, no need to register!


    • Wed, March 31, 2021
    • (EDT)
    • Wed, April 14, 2021
    • (EDT)
    • 2 sessions
    • Online
    • 14
    Register

    The Guidelines for Excellence is a series of materials to help environmental educators hone their practice and programs to national standards for high-quality EE programming.   This workshop will focus on the Professional Development Guidelines publication.

    This workshop is for educators (formal, nonformal, and higher education) want to learn more about:  

    • Assessing your own professional development and teaching experiences
    • How to create a professional development plan as a new or seasoned environmental educator
    • Best practices for planning and implementing EE programs, fostering learning and promoting inclusivity, and planning for assessment and evaluation

    Format: This course will be a combination of independent online work and required group calls.  We will be using an online platform called Moodle for independent work and Zoom for the calls (video and call-in options). 

    Live Call Dates: Wednesday, March 31 and Wednesday, April 14 from 10:00-11:30 AM. Note: you must attend and participate in both calls to receive full credit for this course.

    Facilitators: Corey Sperling 

    Limited to 15 students. 

    Eligible for 10 hours of Criteria I or continuing education credit for the NC DEQ EE Certificate.

    Registration: $15 for EENC members, $20 for general registration.  

    • Wed, April 07, 2021
    • (EDT)
    • Wed, April 21, 2021
    • (EDT)
    • 2 sessions
    • Online
    • 15

    The Guidelines for Excellence is a series of materials to help environmental educators hone their practice and programs to national standards for high-quality EE programming.  This workshop will focus on the K-12 Environmental Education Guidelines publication.

    This workshop is for educators (formal, nonformal, and higher education) want to learn more about:  
    • What environmental literacy is and how to explain the value of environmental literacy.
    • What environmental literacy should look like by the end of grades 4, 8 and 12.
    • How to connect these Guidelines to your EE instructional materials and NC curriculum standards.

    Format: This course will be a combination of independent online work and required group calls.  We will be using an online platform called Moodle for independent work and Zoom for the calls (video and call-in options). 

    Live Call Dates: Wednesday, April 7 and Wednesday, April 21 from 10:00-11:30 AM. Note: you must attend and participate in both calls to receive full credit for this course.

    Facilitators: Corey Sperling 

    Limited to 15 students. Registration will open in mid-March!

    Eligible for 10 hours of Criteria I or continuing education credit for the NC DEQ EE Certificate.

    Registration: $15 for EENC members, $20 for general registration.  

    • Thu, April 15, 2021
    • 2:00 PM - 3:00 PM (EDT)

    From how to find a grant, to developing your idea, to writing your proposal, this introductory webinar will help you learn foundational skills for finding #FundingForEE.  This webinar is intended for those new to grant-writing, whether you're a classroom teacher needing more teaching supplies or to help your students afford a field trip, a newer EE professional wanting to grow your professional skills, or even an experienced EE professional looking into grant opportunities to diversify your funding stream.  

    Presenter: Lauren Pyle
    Lauren Pyle is the Executive Director for EENC. Lauren got into both fundraising and environmental education completely by accident. Lauren graduated from Cornell University with a B.S. and M.A.T., and the goal of being a high school science teacher. Instead, she started as a temporary summer camp instructor and got hooked on nonformal education.  After 10 years teaching, she became EENC’s first executive director to help advance environmental literacy throughout North Carolina.  Lauren works to advance EENC’s strategic priorities, build partnerships, and coordinate fundraising and development.

    Registration Information
    Webinar registration is free and open to anyone to attend, but is limited to 100 participants. Click here to register.

    Webinar will qualify for Criteria III and continuing education for NC DEQ EE Certificate.  

    A recording of the webinar will be sent to attendees afterward.  It will also be posted on EENC's members-only page - so if you're an EENC member and not able to attend during the scheduled time, no need to register!


    • Thu, September 09, 2021
    • (EDT)
    • Sat, September 11, 2021
    • (EDT)
    • Lutheridge, Arden, NC

    Save the date to join us for our 30th annual conference - and the SEEA regional conference!  Learn more at eenc.org/conference.

    Thursday: Pre-Conference Field Trips and Workshops

    Friday and Saturday: Conference Sessions, Keynote, Networking and More!


Past events

Thu, February 25, 2021 Critical Questions for Program Design During Covid-19 (NAAEE Webinar)
Thu, February 18, 2021 Opportunities, Barriers, Strategies towards Inclusion (Green Teacher Webinar)
Thu, February 18, 2021 Creating Interactive Virtual Presentations: Making the Most of Google Slides (EENC Webinar)
Wed, February 17, 2021 Empowering Youth Voices on Climate Change Policy (Green Teacher Webinar)
Wed, February 10, 2021 Preparing for Extreme Weather at Your School (Green Teacher Webinar)
Tue, February 09, 2021 Online K-12 Environmental Education Guidelines for Excellence Workshop - Tuesday AM Section
Fri, February 05, 2021 EENC Community Call
Wed, February 03, 2021 The Plastic Problem and What We Can Do About It (Green Teacher Webinar)
Wed, January 13, 2021 Small Marvels: Reflective Writing to Understand Place and Equity (NAAEE Webinar)
Thu, December 17, 2020 Unmuted: The Webinar (NAAEE Webinar)
Thu, December 17, 2020 EENC Webinar - Finding Our Feet: Groundedness & Place-Based Learning in a Time of Distance
Sat, December 12, 2020 Picnic in the Park: Making Observations (Eastern Section Event)
Thu, December 10, 2020 The Stories We Tell: Reflective Writing to Examine How Nature, Diversity, and Place Influence Our Teaching (NAAEE Webinar)
Wed, December 09, 2020 EENC Webinar - Why is Recycling So Confusing?
Tue, December 08, 2020 10th Annual Nonformal Educators' Meeting (NC Office of EE/DPI Event)
Tue, December 01, 2020 EENC Webinar - Group Management: Practical Application
Fri, November 20, 2020 EENC Webinar - Playing Out: Outdoor Playful Inquiry for All Ages
Thu, November 12, 2020 EENC Webinar - Building an Inclusive Environmental Podcast
Thu, November 05, 2020 Online Professional Development Guidelines for Excellence Workshop - PM Section
Wed, November 04, 2020 EENC Webinar - Inclusion 101
Mon, November 02, 2020 Online Professional Development Guidelines for Excellence Workshop - AM Section
Tue, October 13, 2020 NAAEE Annual Conference
Wed, October 07, 2020 Carolina Beach State Park Biological Plant Hike (Eastern Section Event)
Tue, October 06, 2020 Online K-12 Environmental Education Guidelines for Excellence Workshop - Evening Section
Tue, October 06, 2020 Building an Active and Engaged Public: Discourse, Media Literacy, and Civic Education (NAAEE Webinar)
Mon, September 28, 2020 2020 EENC Conference- Extended Registration
Sat, September 26, 2020 Jordan Lake Paddle Excursion (Central Section Event)
Thu, September 24, 2020 2020 SEEA Annual Conference
Tue, September 22, 2020 A New Guide to Help You Assess Connection to Nature (NAAEE Webinar)
Fri, September 18, 2020 2020 EENC Conference- ComunitEE: Together for A Better World
Thu, September 17, 2020 Virtual Science Trivia (Pre-Conference Event!)
Wed, September 16, 2020 Nature-Based Biology Activities from a Distance (Green Teacher Webinar)
Thu, September 10, 2020 Design Principles for Online EE Programs (NAAEE Webinar)
Wed, September 02, 2020 EENC Webinar - EE, the 5Es, and Evaluation: How does it all work?
Wed, September 02, 2020 Online K-12 Environmental Education Guidelines for Excellence Workshop - AM Section
Thu, August 27, 2020 Thinking Outside: How Nature-based Education Can Help Schools Reopen Safely (NAAEE Webinar)
Wed, August 26, 2020 Using a school-community partnership to cut Greenhouse gases (Green Teacher Webinar)
Tue, August 25, 2020 EENC Webinar - Photography 101: Take Better Pictures
Fri, August 21, 2020 EENC Webinar - African-American Outdoor Experiences
Thu, August 20, 2020 Navigating Difficult Conversations: Strategies for Engaging Students in Social Issue Discussions, Part II (NAAEE Webinar)
Fri, August 14, 2020 Perseid Meteor Shower Camp-Out (Central Section Event)
Thu, August 13, 2020 EENC Webinar - Leave No Trace Awareness
Wed, August 12, 2020 Online K-12 Environmental Education Guidelines for Excellence Workshop - PM Section
Wed, August 12, 2020 Online K-12 Environmental Education Guidelines for Excellence Workshop - AM Section
Fri, August 07, 2020 EENC Community Call: Looking Back at Summer, Looking Forward to Fall
Thu, August 06, 2020 Navigating Difficult Conversations: Creating an Environment for Social Issue Discussions, Part I (NAAEE Webinar)
Wed, August 05, 2020 EENC Webinar - Getting Your Ducks in a Row: Organizing!
Fri, July 31, 2020 EENC Community Call: Rethinking Revenue
Tue, July 28, 2020 EENC Webinar - Small-Scale Rainwater Harvesting
Fri, July 24, 2020 EENC Webinar - Effective Group Management for Today's Students
Wed, July 22, 2020 EENC Community Call: Graphic Design
Thu, July 16, 2020 The Circular Economy: Creating the World We Want (NAAEE Webinar)
Thu, July 16, 2020 EENC Webinar - Communication Skills
Wed, July 15, 2020 EENC Community Call: Centering Equity and EE
Thu, July 09, 2020 EENC Community Call: EE Leaders
Wed, July 08, 2020 Creative Solutions in Our Time of Crisis (Green Teacher Webinar)
Wed, July 08, 2020 EENC Webinar - An unknown world of small creatures: discovering overlooked biodiversity in North Carolina
Tue, June 30, 2020 EENC Webinar - Jumping into the Deep End of Video Production
Fri, June 26, 2020 EENC Webinar - EE During COVID-19: How to Find and Promote Resources and Professional Development
Tue, June 23, 2020 Communicating in Times of Great Change (NAAEE Webinar)
Tue, June 23, 2020 EENC Community Call: Centering Equity and EE
Thu, June 18, 2020 EENC Webinar - Going Virtual: Learning From The 2020 North Carolina Science Festival
Wed, June 17, 2020 EENC Community Call: In-Person Programming/Events and Social Distancing
Thu, June 11, 2020 Online K-12 Environmental Education Guidelines for Excellence Workshop - PM Section
Thu, June 11, 2020 A Shared Narrative in COVID-19 and Beyond (Rethink Outside Webinar)
Thu, June 11, 2020 Online K-12 Environmental Education Guidelines for Excellence Workshop - AM Section
Wed, June 10, 2020 EENC Webinar - Social Media: What's the Point and How to Use It
Wed, June 10, 2020 EENC Community Call: Alternatives to a Traditional Field Trip Model
Thu, June 04, 2020 EENC Piedmont Virtual Happy Hour (Piedmont Section Event)
Tue, June 02, 2020 EENC Webinar - Show me the Door: A lesson on communicating boundaries
Fri, May 29, 2020 EENC Community Call: Creating Online EE Content
Thu, May 28, 2020 Centering Equity in EE's COVID Response (NAAEE Webinar)
Wed, May 27, 2020 EENC Western Section Virtual Happy Hour (Western Section Event)
Fri, May 22, 2020 EENC Community Call: Summer Camp 2020
Wed, May 20, 2020 EENC Community Call: Working Parents in EE
Tue, May 19, 2020 Nature as Inspiration and Transformation: An Intro to Nature Poetry (NAAEE Webinar)
Fri, May 15, 2020 EENC Community Call: Distance Learning
Tue, May 12, 2020 How Do We Find Good in the Bad Times? Nurturing Nature in the Time of COVID (NAAEE Webinar)
Tue, May 05, 2020 Connecting to the Latino Community in the Age of COVID-19 (NAAEE Webinar)
Thu, April 30, 2020 Communicate Like a Leader: 7 Guidelines For a Story of Disruption (NAAEE Webinar)
Wed, April 29, 2020 Indigenous Arts and Sciences: Connecting STEM to Indigenous Science (Green Teacher Webinar)
Wed, April 22, 2020 Earth Day - 50th Anniversary
Mon, April 20, 2020 Fundraising in Uncertain Times (NAAEE Webinar)
Thu, April 16, 2020 Plugged In: A Practical Guide to Moving Place-Based Learning Online (NAAEE Webinar)
Thu, April 16, 2020 EE Program Leaders and COVID-19 Call
Thu, April 09, 2020 Webinar on Webinars (NAAEE Webinar)
Wed, April 08, 2020 The Joy of Garden-Based Education (Green Teacher Webinar)
Wed, April 08, 2020 EE Community and COVID-19 Call
Thu, April 02, 2020 EE Program Leaders and COVID-19 Call
Wed, April 01, 2020 The Art and Science of Teaching Climate Change (Green Teacher Webinar)
Fri, March 27, 2020 EE Community and COVID-19 Call
Tue, March 17, 2020 EE Community Response and COVID-19 Call
Thu, March 12, 2020 Approaches and Tools to Build an Inclusive Workplace and Movement, Part II (NAAEE Webinar)
Thu, March 05, 2020 Science Trivia Night (Central Section Event)
Fri, February 28, 2020 Teachable Moments Chimney Rock Field Trip (Western Section/AEE Southeast Event)
Wed, February 26, 2020 Sip and Learn, The Fungimentals (Western Section Event)
Wed, February 26, 2020 Owl Safari (Central Section Event)
Mon, February 24, 2020 EE Program Leader Meeting - for EENC Members Only!
Thu, February 13, 2020 Red Wolf Education Center Tour (Eastern Section Event)
Wed, February 12, 2020 Approaches and Tools to Build and Inclusive Workplace and Movement (NAAEE Webinar)
Wed, January 29, 2020 EENC Nature Book Club (Central Section Event)
Sat, January 25, 2020 Culturally Relevant EE - Greensboro

Environmental Educators of North Carolina

P.O. Box 4904
Chapel Hill, NC 27515-4904

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software