The board of directors for Environmental Educators of North Carolina is elected by the membership and oversees the organization. Board members plan the annual conference, help develop partnerships, seek funding for the organization, manage EENC memberships, communicate EENC activities and news to the membership, and set and manage the annual budget for the organization.  Section chairs organize section-specific events and help spread the word about the activities by members within their section.  We have an all-volunteer board and 100% of our board members contribute financially to the organization each year.

EENC's work is also supported by an executive director and program coordinator.

2021 EENC Board of Directors

2021 Board -  Zoom board meeting screenshot

Erin Hines - 2021 President
Erin Hines

Crytal Phelps - 2021 Secretary

Secretary: Crystal Phelps

Marissa Blackburn - 2021 Eastern Section Chair

Eastern Section: Marissa Blackburn

Libbie Dobbs-Alexander - 2021 Western Section Chair
Western Section: Libbie Dobbs-Alexander

Amy Renfranz - 2021 Past President
Past President: Amy Renfranz

Lauren Lampley - 2021 Treasurer
 Lauren Lampley

Membership Chair: Barnabas Coker
Kyleene Rooks - 2021 Policy Chair

Policy Chair: Kyleene Rooks

Phil Cox- 2021 Central Section Chair

Central Section: Phil Cox

Elise Tellez - 2021 President Elect
President Elect: Elise Tellez

Brian Wuertz - 2021 Communications Chair

Communications Chair: Brian Wuertz

Renee Strnad - 2021 Partnerships Chair
Partnership Chair: Renee Strnad

Shannon Culpepper - 2021 Conference Co-chairChris Goforth - 2021 Conference Co-chair
Conference Co-Chairs: Shannon Culpepper and Chris Goforth

Mary Meyer - 2021 Piedmont Section Chair
Piedmont Section: Mary Meyer

EENC Staff

Lauren Pyle is the Executive Director for the Environmental Educators of North Carolina. Lauren got into environmental education completely by accident. Lauren graduated from Cornell University with a B.S. in Biology and M.A.T. in Secondary Education, and the goal of being a high school biology teacher. Instead, she started as a temporary summer camp instructor and got hooked on nonformal education.  After nearly 10 years teaching  in nonformal settings in the Asheville area, in January 2018 she became EENC’s first Executive Director.  Lauren works to increase environmental literacy throughout North Carolina by advancing EENC’s strategic priorities, building partnerships, supporting EENC's programming and operations, and coordinating fundraising and development. 

Outside of EENC, Lauren enjoys gardening and playing outside near her home in western NC with her husband and two young children. You can contact her by e mail.

Michelle Pearce is EENC's Program Coordinator.  She mananges professional development programs and supports a variety of projects that make EENC a go-to resource for enviromental educators in our state.  Michelle is a certified North Carolina Environmental Educator and has a Master's of Arts in Education with a focus in Science Education. Her passion is empowering educators with tools that will help them provide equitable and inclusive learning. She is a long time member of EENC and has served on the Board of Directors as Membership Chair, Education Chair, and as the 2016 President. She is also serving in a support role at The NC Arboretum in Adult Education/Professional Development and as the state coordinator for Outdoor Wonders and Learning.  You can contact Michelle by email.

Environmental Educators of North Carolina

P.O. Box 4904
Chapel Hill, NC 27515-4904

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software